Meet Our Summer Intern

Intern Pic

Hello there! My name is Erin McNamara and I am excited to be a part of the Dogwood Events team as their summer intern. I was born and raised in Alexandria, Virginia and am a rising senior at James Madison University in Harrisonburg, Virginia. I currently study Hospitality Management at JMU and aspire to become an event planner.

What made you choose the Hospitality Management field?

For as long as I can remember, my family has taken me on vacation at least once a year to places all around the country and the world. The behind the scenes aspect of the hospitality industry has always interested me since I’ve experienced so much from the guest’s point of view. When I first chose Hospitality Management as my major freshman year, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to make as my concentration. During the summer before my junior year of college I worked as an intern at the Hyatt Dulles in which I had the chance to shadow the head of each department in a rotation. This allowed me to see what I did and did not like about the industry. By the end of my time at the Hyatt, I had decided that catering and banquets were my favorite departments and I wanted to pursue a career in events.

Why did you choose Dogwood Events?

For the Hospitality program at JMU, we are required to fulfill a certain amount of internship hours for class credit before our senior year. As I researched internships related to the hospitality field, I came across Dogwood Events. I felt that it was the perfect fit for me because I am interested in events and haven’t really had much wedding experience so I thought it was a great opportunity to learn about a different side of the event industry.

What do you love most about weddings?

My favorite thing about weddings is seeing how happy everyone is to be together to celebrate the newly weds.

What is your favorite color combination?

lavender, sage, and cream

What about this internship are you most excited about?

I am excited to learn everything that goes into planning and coordinating a wedding first hand!

What is your favorite wedding blog or magazine?

Southern Wedding Magazine because it gives off a very genuine vibe. I really like how they have stories about actual weddings because it makes the possibility of a dream wedding feel more attainable.

What is your favorite flower?

Sunflower

 

Follow us on Instagram for behind the scenes looks. Follow us on Facebook to stay updated on all of the happenings at Dogwood Events. Follow us on Twitter to tweet with us and follow us on Pinterest for some fun inspiration. Don’t forget to visit our website to learn more about us!

Leave a Reply

